Curtain Call

by Cait

I stole the title from ReadyMade’s article (mentioned below) because after three posts in a row I am out of fabric/curtain titles…

After seeing the ridiculously expensive Anthro curtains I mentioned in a previous post, I noticed that I was drawn to blue and white/cream fabrics while shopping for curtain fabric at JoAnn.

I spotted the Waverly print on the right first, but it seemed a bit too busy and at $29.99 a yard it was way out of my price range.   The print on the left is by Home Essentials and was $9.99 a yard.  I really wish I had more information about it, because I wanted to buy a lot more of it, but when I Googled the information from the picture I took of the label nothing came up (it’s also not on the website, and it doesn’t have the name printed on the edge like some fabric.  Boo!)  My plan for the yard and a half that I did buy is similar to the project below that I saw in this month’s issue of ReadyMade.  This one uses an army blanket, embroidery thread, leather straps & snaps, but I think it will also be really cute with a print.

I bought a solid colored tan fabric to use for the curtains on the window.  Hopefully it won’t clash with the door curtain after we stencil it, and if it does I guess I’ll just call it eclectic.  After all, I do also have Urban Outfitters’ Woodside Block print curtains and a Pottery Barn Piccadilly rug in the same room…

Does anyone else mix this much color and print in a room?

14 Comments to “Curtain Call”

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for a little while now. I mix
    color and pattern everywhere, but haven’t had a lot of time or
    energy to decorate since we’re spending all our time and money
    renovating. I try to mix colors from room to room so that there is
    some sense of flow, even though each room is predominantly one
    color. Anyways, I’ve been thinking of making curtains like these
    for our bay window – without curtains I feel like we live in a
    fishbowl but I don’t want to crowd up the space with so much fabric
    (we have 9 ft ceilings and there are 4 huge windows). Do you know
    what these kind of curtains are called? Are there how-to directions
    in the ReadyMade magazine that come with pictures? I have several
    packages of a sheer the Ritva Ikea curtains that I was thinking of
    using but I don’t know where to start! thanks!

    • Hey Jess, so glad you found our blog! (And that you mix colors & patterns, too!) I totally understand the fishbowl feeling. I don’t know exactly what this type of curtain is called, but if you click the picture of the curtain from ReadyMade (or the link below here) it should take you to the article that has directions for a curtain like the one in the article. I’m sure they could be adapted to use Ritva curtains from Ikea. Good luck!

      http://www.readymade.com/projects/experience_a_curtain_call

  2. Hi Cait,

    I made curtains for my office that are similar to the blanket, but more feminine. You can see pics here:
    http://ourhumbleabowed.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/trim-office/

    I haven’t done a tutorial yet, but basically, make a rectangle that fits inside your window, keeping a pocket for the curtain rod. Fold ribbon in half an sew to the top (stitch where you made the pocket top). Then, roll or gather your fabric, tie the ribbon and you’re done!

    • Thanks for the tips, Amanda! Your office looks great! Hopefully Jess, who commented earlier, checks back if that’s that’s the kind of curtain she was looking for!

  3. Haha, not even realizing that you’ve been writing on the
    topic, I’m in the process of finalizing a post about DIY curtains.
    I’m still fabric shopping (looking for eggplant purples) but
    scoured etsy and a few online consortiums after being let down at
    JoAnn’s. Looking forward to seeing your final windows!

  4. I am definitely not scared to mix patterns!!! GO for it.

    • Thanks Sara! I think we’re definitely going for it, especially since we’re planning to make the pattern on the curtains we stencil less busy. Fingers crossed!

  5. Can’t wait to see how it all turns out!!

  6. I agree ithat the print should work well! Kelly

  7. I love this project! Such a great idea. Keep us
    posted!

Leave a Reply

