It’s Curtains For You

by Cait

After a bit of consideration (and help from West Elm in the form of selling out… again), I think I might make my own curtains.  Maybe.

Looking at the Ikea curtains made me a) wish they were slightly darker and b) think about my linen Lotta Jansdotter tote&pillow.  Then I remembered that I had seen Lotta stencils (below right) in West Elm while Christmas shopping.  I almost bought them, too, but I bought a mercury glass penguin ornament instead (it was on sale).

I’m thinking I might have to buy the stencils now and make my own curtains with fabric like the above left.

Cross your fingers that I don’t make a hot mess of the fabric between the paint and my sewing!

6 Comments to “It’s Curtains For You”

  1. The curtains shouldn’t be too bad to sew, and I’m sure you’ll also do an awesome job with the stenciling. Good luck!

  2. Ooh i’ve seen this done with the fabric you posted but as little scraps stenciled and mounted to shadow box frames as wall art — so this would be GIANT wall art! I’m so excited for you! =) hooray crafts <3

    • I’m excited, too! We found some burlap for $2.50ish a yard,
      but we need to triple check measurements. And we bought the
      stencils from West Elm. Woohoo!

      xo
      c

  3. Ooh I’m intrigued! I need to hack some curtains of my own soon, so let us know how it goes!!

    • I will definitely let you guys know how it goes! We bought the stencils last night and then I choked at the price of the linen I wanted (much like I did when I wanted wool for the guest bed!) so I bought a similar colored fabric with a smaller weave tonight for $4 a yard. Robert tells me we are going to Ikea this weekend (assuming they are open on New Year’s Day), so we will have curtain wires soon, too, haha.

Leave a Reply

