Archive for October 1st, 2010

October 1, 2010

Question for Readers: Ceiling Fan vs Light

by Cait

Our guest room is nearly done, but one of the things that still bugs me about it is the ceiling fan.

guest roomDon’t worry, this is just a placeholder that shows the fan.

I don’t think we can take it down because this room doesn’t get fantastic (you caught that, right?) airflow, being an addition and all (and we live in Florida).  I’m hoping the perfect ceiling fan will magically appear at Lowe’s, and be on sale, but I think that is kind of unlikely.  Maybe we should do something like what YHL did here?  Although, after the way we redid the lighting in the room the ceiling fan light isn’t really necessary.  Maybe we could get a simple (not hideous) fan without a light?  (They have to make those, right?)  Or should we just get a retro looking table fan and find/make a sweet ceiling light fixture?  Maybe the Fado pendant from Ikea?

Matthews Fan Co, image seen on Urban Grace Interiors

Fans like this are completely awesome, and completely out of our price range.  Also I doubt it’s the best option for the style of our room.  Something rustic yet modern would be perfect.  Now where do I find soemthing like that, or what do I make it out of?