Window Seat Revamp

by Cait

Earlier I mentioned how Dottie I was finally getting around to painting our window seat.

This piece started out life as a coffee table that belonged to my grandmother’s friend.  After she passed away my grandparents used it in their house as a tv console for a while, and when we bought our house we also used it as a tv console until we rearranged the library.  Then I bought some clearance Pottery Barn chair cushions, sewed them into a long strip, and turned it into a window seat.

The dogs liked the window seat as much as I did, and because I was slow in getting a rug pad to go under the cushions, they added some of their own distressing to the top.

Initially I wanted to paint the piece Valspar Under the Sea, but with some help from Dots I decided to use a green we already had.  The actual painting was a pain in my behind because of all the trim pieces on the doors, and after briefly hitting the “I hate this project!” and “oh no, I think I picked the wrong color!” walls I didn’t stress too much, especially because I knew I wanted an antique-y look and didn’t have to get it to look perfect.  After about half an hour to an hour I was done painting, and ready to move it back inside (with a rug pad under the cushion this time, to prevent as many scratches from the dogs as possible).

What do you think?  Did I Dots pick the right color, or is there more painting in the hot Florida sun in the future?

Check back for finished details on hutch when there isn’t football to watch it isn’t too dark to take pictures!

18 Responses to “Window Seat Revamp”

  1. love it! and love the dog! what breed is it?

  2. Ooh! LOVE that green! It is absolutely perfect! Great job!

  3. That looks great! I love that your dog has to also show off all the redos! :)

  4. Love it! Well done.

  5. I think it turned out great!!!

  6. I love it! Love the colour and the cushions. Hmm… you might have inspired me!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment