Faux Brick or Faux Pas?

by Cait

It’s no secret that I love these sconces, but that’s a story for another day.  Today I want to talk about the lovely white brick wall the sconces are hung on.

From West Elm

I love exposed brick walls in houses, I don’t care if it’s “overdone”, it’s one of the things I always wanted in a house (or even just a studio space).  Our house doesn’t have any brick walls (painted over or not), but I have been contemplating the thought of making a faux brick wall behind our tv and painting it white. 

I know there is some awful looking faux brick, but does it matter what quality it is since I want to paint it a nice, glossy white ?  I’ve seen some pretty expensive faux brick panels online, and I’ve contemplated brick tiles, and I’ve brainstormed some other ideas, now I need y’all to give me your opinion, faux real! (Ok, that was just bad…)  But seriously, should I figure out a way to faux brick the wall or curb my enthusiasm for exposed brick for 10-15 years until we build a garage with studio space above?

8 Responses to “Faux Brick or Faux Pas?”

  1. Sure, go for it. You can always take it down if you get tired of it.

  2. Forgot to add: I think I’d go for a satin finish rather than a high gloss.

    • Thanks, Carol! I kept talking myself out of this because I wasn’t sure how psyched I’d be to remove it later if I didn’t love it. I haven’t decided what finish, most likely not eggshell like the rest of the walls, I think you may be right about satin.

  3. The Vacuform panels from Rose Brand seem like a pretty legit choice faux white brick. I’d go for it! Especially if it’s something you’ve been wanting for a while!

    Love,
    Your fellow nolefan
    haha

    • Ooh I like those panels, Jenn! I was looking at something else that looked like it’d be around twice that for the wall, oof!

      ps – hooray for Nole fans!

  4. I had this thought for our bedroom, because I felt like the walls needed something and I would looove if the wall behind my bed had exposed brick. But I kinda spiraled into other ideas… wallpaper? painted with stencil? stone? I think in order to save some money and make it easy to change I’m going to go with some sort of paint treatment. It will be lacking in texture, but still has that visual pop!

    ps- I really need to invest in some battery operated candles……

    • Oh geez Rebecca, now you’ve got me thinking MY bedroom needs this! Don’t tell Robert I want to spend a good portion of our savings on faux brick! ;)

      Can’t wait to see what you come up with for your bedroom!

      I feel like the jury is still out on the battery operated candles for me. The ones we got from Target are very yellow, and I’m not sure it’s in a good way. Robert likes them, but they may be a bit too Disney’s Pirates of the Caribean ride for me. I’m hoping they’ll grow on me, because it seems a LOT safer than having a lit candle hanging on a wall. I am tempted to order some of these (but maybe I’d feel the same way about them?) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000WNSFZC?ie=UTF8&tag=hernandohouse-20&creativeASIN=B000WNSFZC

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

