Sidewalk Sale?

by Cait

Ok, so our neighborhood doesn’t actually had sidewalks, but every once and awhile (especially after a call or text from a friend or family member) on trash night it seems a little like a sidewalk sale.  Or maybe I should start over.

Hi, my name is Cait and I have a problem.  A problem with adopting furniture that other people are throwing away, making it over and putting it in my home.

This chair, for instance.

curbside chair

This chair was calling my name.  I can just see this chair painted tan, blue or green (colors we have leftover from other projects) on the other side of the bed in the guest room, or at one of the desks in the art room.  Our other “sidewalk sale” score was this cabinet.

shoe cabinet closed

Yes, the legs are slightly unlevel.  Yes, it was sitting upside-down on the rain-soaked asphalt so the top either needs to be painted, covered with pretty paper, or intentionally weathered.  And yes, the door pulls are useless and don’t actually open the dooes.  But when Robert flipped it over for me and opened the doors?

shoe cabinet open

Hello, shoe cabinet.

And so, I have a problem.  Occasionally my problem is contagious and Robert comes home with things he finds.  The short list of things we have rescued off the side of the road?

  1. The wing chair that alternates between the guest room and the art room.
  2. The bedside table in the guest room.
  3. The two desk chairs in the art room (project details coming soon).
  4. A satellite dish and antenna that my parents were looking to use with their camper.
  5. Two rolling desk chairs like this (the ones without arms) that are waiting in the shed to be refinished.
  6. A rocking chair for a friend’s nursery (also waiting in the shed for a little love).
  7. A cast iron sink for the same friend’s kitchen.
  8. A table base turned firewood holder.

And so, I we have a problem.  And that doesn’t even include the deals we’ve scored at Habitat for Humanity ReStore, Craigslist, and a local home renovators’ surplus store.

Does anyone else have this problem?  I know some cities have a “love it or leave it” section at the city dump, which might make this kind of thing a lot easier (or maybe not, it might be similar to the way we’ve lost several things we’ve scouted to the junk men who pick up scrap metal and other pawn-able items).

5 Responses to “Sidewalk Sale?”

  1. Too funny! I can relate to this addiction as well. But, I am forced to be more selective now as to what I bring in here…my husband keeps saying if you bring something in, then something has got to go out. haha…we have been busy downsizing, since I am pregnant and due in February and we are trying to clear room for the baby. I have to say, it is actually a very freeing feeling to purge and let go of things… :) Have fun…

  2. Yeah, I have a feeling we will get to that “something must go out” point soon! Our house is rapidly filling up with furniture, so I’m going to either have to stop curb shopping or start selling the pieces after they’re finished, haha! We are currently purging some of our clothes and other infrequently used items, which is a huge task in itself. Sigh…

    Congrats on the little one on the way!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

