Handling It

by Cait

This post goes out anyone (else) who has ever gone completely bat-shit crazy during a reno. I have been searching for the perfect handles for the guest bathroom since April.

I shared the photo above in July, but what I didn’t share was what I went though to find them.

The top left are the handles I have plans for, the bottom right are ones that are destined for our Etsy shop (unless someone sees something they like), the top right I’m not sure what to do with (the metal ones will probably end up on Etsy or some various project), and the bottom left are miscellaneous ones that came with some of the other ones I ordered.

one of our Etsy bottle stoppers, along with the stainless stoppers we use

These arrived today (for $15 with a boat load of other plumbing junk we’ll never use) and I was hoping they would work with the handle that arrived last week (the ones in this post; which I forgot to show with all the others). They don’t look right together, but the ones above are starting to grow on me, so we’ll probably use them for the outdoor shower.

I did find what I think I’m looking to use in the hall bathroom though. I Googled “1950s faucet” and ran across this post on Retro Renovation which led me to FaucetPartsPlus.com, where I found some American Standard cross handles that look like they will match the one I already have. $18.99. Sold.

for the hall bath (I saw these escutcheons for $11.99 at Ace today, mine were 3 for $18)

While I’m being honest, here is the rest of my escutcheon haul:

bottom right from Period Bath and the rest of them came with handles

I scored some great deals on all of this, especially when you consider how much there is. Now I’m just trying to pair things down.

Have you gone through an equally long search looking for the perfect touch of a project?

2 Comments to “Handling It”

  1. I love that you used the term “bat-shit crazy”…I can identify with that feeling…hehehe
    Good laugh for a Friday!

Leave a Reply

