Preparing for a Mini Bathroom Overhaul

by Cait

Hey y’all. I promise we’re not dead, just busy. (But alive and well on The Twitter). Lately we haven’t done much around the house. I laid peel&stick vinyl plank flooring in the kitchen last weekend (not the one that just ended; yes I owe you a post), decided I want to paint the master bedroom ceiling, bought a drain plug for the hall bath, and promptly decided we need to fix this hot mess. (Because, you know, we need another project.)

yes, that is a hole cover commonly seen on kitchen sinks

So then I ordered three of these (for less than half the price I found them locally, even with shipping).

 from Amazon

Which I’m thinking about pairing with these (and the chrome version of this, since we love the one for the guest bath).

However, that plan requires messing with this.

So of course none of this can happen until we finish the guest bath, because old houses + old plumbing = we need a place to shower.

We’re also thinking about installing the toilet we bought for the guest bath in this bathroom (and buying another of the same toilet for in there if we like it), but again old houses + old plumbing = we need a place to pee.

For those of you keeping track at home:

  • Guest bath – Still demoed.
  • Guest room – Still being used as a staging area.
  • Kitchen- Impromptu $80 new floor.
  • Guest room & living room floor – Still needs to be laid.
  • Master Bedroom – Want to paint ceiling.
  • Art Room closet – Still not sure we love the color, haven’t hidden cords or added shelving.
  • New interior doors – Still hanging out in the shed.
  • I have a lot of packages coming in the mail (exciting!)
  • We’re going to have plenty of handles to make more bottle stoppers for our Etsy shop.
  • Plus everything else on the to-do list.

Yikes.

8 Comments to “Preparing for a Mini Bathroom Overhaul”

  1. Can’t wait to see your kitchen floor…we’re currently shopping around for a new one!

  2. I’m impressed that you can do all this plumbing stuff! I have a lot to learn when it comes to that and electricity. For now, I’m sticking to the simpler DIY projects. Though I seem to be on track with you when it comes to waiting for packages in the mail!

    • Thanks for the comment, Caitlin! (Always good to hear from another Caitlin.)

      I completely understand! Plumbing (and electrical) has definitely been a slow, learn-as-you-go thing for us. Robert had done some things before, with his dad or with a friend. Our first solo plumbing project was replacing the faucet in the hall bathroom. Several frustrating hours and several trips to Lowe’s/Home Depot later we turned the water to the whole house back on and admired our faucet (this one). Then we installed a kitchen sink faucet (much easier without the pedestal part of the bathroom sink in the way). The dishwasher was an adventure, but we finally got that installed.

      Every project brings new challenges, and sometimes we still need to call in other people for help (like when a pipe burst in the wall of the guest bath.) I’m sure we’ll consult a plumber we know for parts of the guest bath, but maybe we can tackle the hall bath valves. Fingers crossed!

      Haha glad I’m not alone in waiting for packages!

  3. I’m tired just reading this. :P

    Those handles are pretty. I think you should buy them.

    Sincerely,
    Your bad influence blogging buddy

    • Haha thanks Michelle! That makes me feel a little better about being tired living it! haha

      I love the handles, but the diverter handle I found (the picture of which apparently got deleted from this post!) arrived today and is 7/8 of an inch larger, and may look funny. I think I located some, and they should be here later this week. Fingers crossed they are the same size. Until then, I’m driving myself batty. If those get here and are a totally different size I’ll probably order the pretty ones.

      I guess it’s better than better than buyingthis $$$ set?

  4. I also love those handles. I can’t wait to read how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

