Curb Your Enthusiasm

by Cait

Does anyone else ever feel like they are stylistically confused? As I mentioned in the last post, I’ve been planning a mini makeover for the front porch. I also mentioned in this post that the style we’re going for with the exterior of our house is rustic & electic modern with traditional & Spanish influences (no, I still have not figured out a better way to say that). 

This is what I’m considering:

door hardwarelight; paint color; mailbox; brushed nickel doorbell; house number; Mexican tiles; brass doorbell; iron doorbell; steel house numbers

We recently got a great deal on new front door hardware, thanks to Robert and our friend Lisa pointing out a mixup with price stickers at Lowe’s. It was actually marked $59.99 instead of $122, but the manager on duty would only go as low as $80. Legally we technically could have made him sell it to us for the marked price, but $80 sounded like a good deal to us. Robert & I bought one for our house, and Lisa & Jordan bought one for their new house. You can see our old hardware below, from when Robert & I were trying to decide on an exterior paint color (still no progress on that venture, but we’re thinking tan with light blue shutters.)

We decided on a new porch light (though I think the one at our Lowe’s is actually black instead of brushed nickel, which is fine with us). We’d also like to paint the ceiling a light blue from the Valspar Creative Ideas for Color line at Lowe’s, but we need to work on the porch ceiling. There are a couple of weird trim piece that need to be removed but we’re not sure if they are covering wires or just seams in the ceiling. Hopefully that will be fairly simple. (Famous last words?) 

sorry for the old, crooked iPhone picture

Then comes the issue of house numbers. Hopefully you understand that I don’t want to show you our actual house number, but I cant tell you it’s a DIY project we tackled pre-blog. I covered 6 inch ceramic tiles with scrapbook paper, stenciled the numbers on, and then we framed it with some molding we already had. The whole thing probably cost about $2 (for the scrapbook paper), and I’m ready for a change. I really like the idea of using Mexican tiles on the front of our steps (which is why I’ve pinned a few on my Curb Appeal board). I feel like these blue house numbers would go along with those  nicely with those tiles, and I also think they would pair well with our Swedish mailbox that Robert’s parents gave me for my birthday. 

On the other hand, I also like the style of these steel house numbers (and the idea that they could be backlit with LEDs).  I made a mock-up of how it would look if we mounted the steel numbers under the library window. Our current house numbers can be a bit hard to see up on the porch, even with the light on, and the tile numbers I’ve been eyeing are ever smaller. Maybe adding some well-lit ones beneath the window would help that?

Putting my Photoshop skillz to good use, though the tiles would be more random than that.

As for choosing a doorbell, I know that mixed metals are in right now, but I think it should probably be brushed nickel since it will be so close to the door hardware. I’m leaning toward the satin nickel one above, from Restoration Hardware. We’re going to have to figure out a way to move the doorbell to the right side of the door, because the ones we’re considering are probably too wide to fit in the same place as the current narrow one. Moving it to the other side may be tricky, thanks to the stucco/plaster wall and possibly having to rewire things in the attic. Here’s hoping we can work something out with all of that.

Replacing the doorbell sort of dovetails into an entryway project. If we replace the button we will probably end up also replacing the door chime, which is currently mounted on the wall to the right of the hallway entrance. Then that segues into a fireplace project because I want to remove the tile, which wraps around on three sides.

Very old photo, best one to show where the door chime is.

We’ll probably try to tackle the porch ceiling and light this weekend, and then work our way from there.

Do y’all have one design style or is it more of a hodgepodge like ours? What about mixing metals? And does anyone else notice that one project leads into the next, and the next, and so on?

21 Responses to “Curb Your Enthusiasm”

  1. I feel like we are working on similar house projects at the same time! We are at a cross roads with our patio and rooftop deck projects. In order to finish them we have to make pretty definite design decisions. They both trigger so many other projects that it feels like we are constantly thinking ten steps ahead (material finishes-time constraints, money), it’s overwhelming some days. At the same time I love the planning and experimenting that goes along with DIYing. Lately I’ve started accepting that my renovations may just end up taking longer than I planned ;)
    Not a huge fan of the mixed metals! Love the tiles.

    • I know the feeling. Definite crossroads, and very overwhelming. I love the planning, it’s the execution that kills me sometimes. And I’ve had to accept that things are just going to take longer than I planned/wanted.

      I’m not a huge fan of mixed metals either. Which is why I’m leaning towards the brushed nickel for the doorbell. I’m fine with the oil rubbed post light in the yard and the black porch light, but the door hardware and doorbell seem like they should match.

  2. I absolutely love the color of your front door! Are you going to plant anything in that bed?

    • Thanks Lacie!

      We’ve been trying to decide what to plant in the planter. I think we’re going to have to wait until it’s a little cooler out, because it gets so much dirrect sun that the few things I’ve tried didn’t make it.

  3. The glass tile reminds me of the tile I put up in my kitchen! Love the color & I wish I could have afforded glass. Ah, well. Mixing metals – sometimes. My security door has ORB so I’m thinking (like you) the new door hardware should be the same – we’re actually waiting for a deal. And yes, I totally understand one thing leading to the next. I wanted to get white paint for the ceilings and that got me thinking about the master bath, bedroom, guest room, hallway…

    Ooh, and I love both the doorbells that say “push”. So freakin’ cute.

    Looks great!

    • Thanks Emily! I love the “Glass Tile” color from Valspar! And I love the tile in your kitchen! They both kind of make me want to rethink using white subway tile in our bathroom reno (which is pretty much postponed at this point).

      The “Push” doorbells are so cute! We think found a way to modify something we already have for the doorbell, but I kind of want to get one of the “Push” ones! Oh decisions…

      • So I just remembered this and had to share. When we had a friend/plumber come check out how we were going to install the tub, he commented that if we didn’t switch out all the tub hardware to match he wouldn’t help us. haha. A picky plumber! I asked Jeremiah if he was joking and he said the plumber was dead serious.

  4. Cait- love that tile! And I’m totally jealous of your photoshop skills. Can’t wait to see it complete in real life!

  5. Everything looks so nice, but the Mexican tiles on the steps are easily my favorite! They would add such a nice splash of color.

  6. I honestly couldn’t even tell that you photoshopped that! I was all, “Ahh! That looks awesome! Go Cait!”
    (Haha of course I still am, just in different context now.)
    LOVE the blue house numbers! Especially if you guys go with yellow/blue exterior! (I like the colors on the biggest single square and the middle swatch on the bottom set of three, personally.) I know you guys are going to pick a winner, though! And your idea to paint the ceiling blue is really gonna make it all POP!
    Cant wait to see!

    • Thanks Britt!

      I think we night go with a tan/blue exterior, but I’m pretty sure that the yellow you chose is the same one we were planning to use. I guess we’ll have to pick a tan and then compare the them both with the blues we’re thinking of.

      We were hoping to get the porch ceiling done this past weekend, but that didn’t happen. Hopefully we will get it done this week.

  7. Ok, those are some outstanding Photoshop skills! I love the contrast of the Mexican tile next to the stainless steel numbers. I never think to mix styles like that, but it really works. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  8. Ruclectic moditionalist. That’s how I think you should define your porch style :-)

  9. An erroneous price tag doesn’t “legally” require a store to honor that price… if that were the case, people could stand in front of a store employee, peel stickers off one item, stick them on another, and the store would HAVE to give them the item at that price. A store isn’t responsible for errors like that, just like they don’t have to honor misprinted prices in ads. That manager did you a favor and you should be extra nice to them in return.

    • Actually from what I understand there is a state law in Florida that misprinted prices have to be honored. The sticker on the lock set had the sku number of the $122 set, it was clear that it was their mistake. They don’t have to honor it unless it is a clear mislabel, which is why moving a sticker as you suggested wouldn’t work.

      We weren’t rude to the manager who marked it down to $80 for us, we thanked him and didn’t press the issue. I was simply stating the fact that we could have held them to the labeled price. We have spent thousands of dollars at Lowe’s since buying our house, the employees all know us & ask about our projects. We were actaully back in Lowe’s the next day buying paint and one of the employees told us that they would have lowered the price to $59.99 if we’d pressed the issue.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

