Zigzag

by Cait

I came across this post on Apartment Therapy last night, which features Camila of High-Heeled Foot in the Door‘s DIY chevron rug. I’m beginning to think it is just the right solution to my “our hallway is 16 feet long and the runner I fell in love with is 7 feet long” issue. I was going to paint one like Amanda at Our Humble A{Bowe}d did in her boys’ room, but I can’t find any runner over 8 feet long. 

from High-Heeled Foot in the Door

I think this could be a good solution (with a lot o’ Scotch Guard and a washable fabric). Especially since the project will cost about one-third what the too-short runner from West Elm would if it works. What do y’all think?

Tags: , ,

13 Comments to “Zigzag”

  1. That is a totally awesome solution and is totally gorgeous! If you’re looking to paint/make a simple runner, Rachael over at Lovely Crafty Home just did one earlier this month: http://www.lovelycraftyhome.com/2011/04/14/a-stenciled-drop-cloth-rug/

  2. I’ve been wanting to try a DIY rug like Camilla’s too! Go for it!

    • Thanks Jane! I really want to do this soon! Right now I’m just trying to work out what other projects we will be doing to avoid having even more half finished projects laying around, haha.

  3. Go for it! I might try this out as well.

  4. Might as well try! I just bought a chevron rug that I love – otherwise I would try too.
    But – I did come across these – http://www.rugsusa.com/rugsusa/rugs/the-american-home-rug-company-boardwalk-stripes/blue/265AT064BL-26010.html
    They are striped rather than chevron, but they are up to 12 feet long…

    • Thanks Megan! I think I’ll try DIYing one first, and if that is an epic fail I’ll save up for the one you linked. Annoyingly I couldn’t find anything that long when I was searching rugsusa.com, so thanks!

  5. Cait you should totally do it! You could save even more money by using a thick painter’s drop cloth. It might not look quite as good as painting a “real” rug, but I think it would give you the look you’re going for! Have a great day!

  6. Cait-
    Yes – that is the one I have! I love it!!! RugsUSA frequently has 30% off – and I got the rug for only $130. (for the 5×7). It is in my craft room, and sometimes it has to get rolled up, but overall I love it.

    I can’t wait to see what you do for your runner.

    • Oooh 30% would be great! I’ll have to watch for that! Yeah, if we go with something like that for the art room ours will probably get rolled up occasionally.

      Thanks! Hopefully I’ll have our DIY done soon, whether we go with Camila’s version or something else :)

Leave a Reply

