Weekend To Dos: How We Did

by Cait

Ok, so I should have posted this yesterday. Also I forgot to upload our shower pictures. Oops.

Hope everyone had a good weekend! I’m back a quick rundown of how our To Do list went, and a bit of daydreaming about the plumbing part of the shower.

gratuitous picture from Houzz 

  • Outdoor Shower Surround – Done! (Also? Ask me how annoying it is when you spend 5+ hours working on something and 20 minutes after you finish it the first person who sees it says “Do you not have a shower inside?”)
  • Calculate Outdoor Shower Plumbing Cost – Not so done. But after spending only$34 on the surround (did I mention we love gift cards and coupons?) we’re less worried about the cost of plumbing (we budgeted $150 for just the surround, gotta love being under budget). Also? When Robert rinsed off with super-cold hose water (because some wife who shall remain nameless got the sun-warmed water that had been sitting in the hose) he decided we must plumb soon.
  • Paint the Back Door – Done!
  • Living Room Curtains – Partially done. We made one panel and realized the panels are far too narrow, so we’re planning to add bands of patterned fabric down the sides. I’ll probably finish the top and bottom of the other panels and hang them until the fabric comes in.
  • Write Posts About Projects – Not so done. But hey, I have to have something to do while Robert is in class and at his weekly Tuesday night meeting, right?
  • Test Pallet Theory – Not so done. We think this will definitely work (or we’ll make it work, because we’re stubborn) but we haven’t actually tested it (unless you count removing some of the top boards months ago before we came up with this plan as “testing”). We did discuss the need to borrow more of my dad’s tools, though. I’m sure he’s thrilled at that idea.
  • Relax. – While I wouldn’t call this “done” (because, can you ever be finished with relaxing?), we definitely did make time for some relaxation! After all, it wouldn’t be a weekend without a bit of downtime. 

from houzz

For the plumbing part, we’re going to do something kind of similar to the photos above, and we budgeted about $200 for the plumbing, so we’ll see what we can do with that.  We know we want a large shower head and white porcelain cross handles. The shower head we’ve been planning to use is the one below, it’s Glacier Bay from Home Depot and it’s $35. We’ve been really happy with that brand of bathroom and kitchen faucet that we installed, and the price is reasonable.

from Home Depot

The handles I’ve been looking at are $11 each from Lowe’s and come in H, C and plain. I’m not sure if we need 3 or not, because we haven’t worked out exactly how we plan to run the pipes, but I know Robert wants a foot sprayer/hose bib so we can wash the dogs outside in the summer, and that will probably involve a diverter valve somwhere. We might use a lever handle for that instead, though.

from Lowe’s

For those of you playing along at home, that puts us at $68 already (ironically exactly twice what we paid for the shower surround). Kind of hard to swallow for three handles and a shower head, but since we saved so much on the surround I guess it’s ok. Maybe.

Tags:

9 Responses to “Weekend To Dos: How We Did”

  1. Definitely like the plumbing choices!!! Glad you worked in a little relaxation too! It’s always nice to have an ambitious project list, but it’s important to fit in that rest time. :) Nice progress!

  2. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I am loving your handles from Lowe’s. What a great price!

    • You’re welcome! I’ve been reading your blog and cracking up at work (sometimes silently, somtimes not). Just read this post and I almost died laughing. You are getting added to the blogroll for suresies!

      I love those handles, too! Can’t wait to get to work on that project this coming weekend!

      • Cait,
        So glad you liked the post and thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I clicked the link to see what post you were referencing and I relived the whole thing. I’m sure you can imagine that Boyfriend was less than thrilled to be the subject of that post. I’m loving all of your outdoor posts. Jealous of your outdoor shower, drooling over some of those pictures you are using as inspiration. Are you pinteresting? I’m just getting started, but I’d love to see your boards if you are, I bet they are fantastic.

        • You’re welcome, Em! Haha yes I’m sure he was not thrilled having that shared with the internet!

          I’m not pinteresting (yet), but I have a few ideabooks on Houzz (and by “a few” I’m using the lesser-known definition that actually means “22”, because holy inspiration pictures, Batman). Most of those are just for my own benefit, but they’re full of pretty pictures.

  3. I love the outdoor shower plan! Great inspiration pics.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

