April Showers

by Cait

With the weather beginning to warm up here in Florida, I’ve been thinking a lot about our outdoor shower (and our tank pool, but that’s another post).  The idea of rinsing off out in the sunshine after a long bike ride or a day at the beach sounds pretty heavenly.  It might even be a great alternative to washing the dogs in our guest bath during the summer (except that wet white dogs + dirt = terrifying idea).  I’ve been kicking the idea of having fun/funky gauges in the outdoor shower ever since this house tour on Apartment Therapy, and then seeing the shower in Emily at Merrypad’s post about Hamilton Productions pretty much cemented the decision.  I’m sure Robert can come up with something completely awesome, he has yet to let me down when I pose weird design problems.


Left from Merrypad, right from AT

Initially we thought a wooden shower stall around an existing concrete pad in our backyard (I would show y’all a picture, but it is housing a lawn mower beneath a pollen-coated motorcycle cover at the moment- classy).  After seeing Emily’s post we started thinking a 4×4 post frame with either corrugated plastic or the corrugated metal like Kara used for her headboard (which was recently featured on AT!)  Robert is leaning towards corrugated metal, and I was thinking plastic because I like the idea of it being at least semi-translucent, so that it’s not just a big thing in the yard (I am obviously always really eloquent).  It seems like it would get really gross, really quickly though (and it might be completely see through, we didn’t remember to look the last time we were at Lowe’s). 

Left from Merrypad, right from Charles and Hudson

For some reason I never noticed that gorgeous Dwell rug before! Now I love Kara’s guest room even more!

Here’s hoping the shower can be completed (oh hey, even started is good with me) soon!

12 Responses to “April Showers”

  1. Cait, I LOVE outdoor showers!!! What a great project to take on, especially since you live in sunny Flordia! I can’t wait to see what you do!

    • Thanks Kara! Hopefully it will be a quick project once we decide what direction to go in design-wise since we already have a concrete pad is already there!

  2. I LOVE the wooden shower! My husband and I have totally thought about an outdoor shower too, but that is definitely on the low priority list right now, but I must say, that if we had a dog, I would highly highly consider making it more of a priority!

    Also, I NEVER noticed the dwell rug in Kara’s room either, and that is one of my favorite all time rooms!!!

    Keep us posted on the shower progress!

    • Thanks Ashley! I will definitely keep y’all posted!

      I think an outdoor shower would be great with your gorgeous pool, but I totally understand it not being a high priority!

  3. Our backyard doesn’t have enough privacy for an outdoor shower, much to my ever-lasting chagrin! SO very jealous.

  4. Things I love. That Charles & Hudson shower. That whole bedroom photo, most especially the boarded wall (I want to do that SO badly). The fact that you were inspired by Scott’s shower gauge (agreed, it was a radical use of an old gadget). Thanks for the shout-out! Glad to be an inspiration + can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

  5. Keep in mind I have not had my morning coffee yet.

    I think the plastic shower looks like someplace Dexter would kill his victims.

    I LOVE corrugated metal.

    That is all :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

