Fired Up

by Cait

As I mentioned a while back, the ideas floating around in my head for our eventual fireplace redesign were partially inspired by Katie Bower’s old den.  I love that mantel so much.  For our fireplace I was thinking about using flagstone for our surround since our front porch is flagstone and I thought it would be a nice way to carry outside elements into the house.

Fireplace
our fireplace

Katie Bower’s fireplace

Then this Apartment Therapy tour reminded me of my ridiculous love for rustic wood mantels.  We mentioned the idea to a coworker from one of Robert’s previous jobs and he told us that he has already sent a mysterious piece of wood to a sawmill for us.  Yessssssssssss!

Apartment Therapy tour

In the interest of incorporating one of my other favorite elements I thought about adding white brick instead of drywalling (and texturing it, to match the rest of our plaster walls).  I did a quick Google image search and came up with this picture.

source

It’s not exactly what I had in mind because I’d prefer the bottom of our fireplace be the same depth out as the top, and I’d like our mantel to be more rustic, but it’s close enough.  I showed the picture  to Robert and he agreed that he liked the way it looks, and he said it might be easier (if the faux brick we talked about here is heat-resistant enough, at least).  Score!

4 Comments to “Fired Up”

  1. LOVE the fireplace ideas… I’ve been dreaming up a little fireplace/wall remodel too! Not sure when it’s going to be, but I can’t wait to see your’s!

    • Thanks Ashley :) Looking forward to seeing yours when you get to it! I hope we get to do ours soon! We may have to tackle a few more projects that we already havers majority of supplies for first, but I really, really want to get to the fireplace soon!

  2. love the wood mantle. do it!
    also, you are so lucky you have a fireplace. I’ve always wanted one.

    • Thanks Heidi! Hoping to get to tackle this soon, and I REALLY can’t wait to see what the mystery piece of wood at the sawmill is.

      The fireplace was kind of a “must have” for us when house hunting. I love it so much!

Leave a Reply

