World’s Shortest Hiatus

by Cait

Good news everyone!  I’m back from my whole dramaticI’m taking a break” thing.  At least for now.

We haven’t done much in the way of house-related projects recently, unless you count washing dishes and opening & closing the curtains.  Robert is on spring break from school this week, I am working on a header for a friend’s blog, and then there was some much-needed bike riding, laying on the beach, hanging out with friends, and reading by Robert’s parents’ pool sprinkled into the past few weeks.  (Apologies to those of you who still have snow.  Hopefully you will be slightly less annoyed if I mention I didn’t actually swim at the beach or in the pool?) 

We did move this chair into the art room in front of the roll top.  We’re thinking about spray painting it a brighter, glossy  yellow since I’m not above bastardizing painting wood that was pretty gnarly to begin with.

We added more stumps to our stump graveyard.  A piece of curb appeal for which I am sure our neighbors love us.

I have recently resisted buying a discontinued West Elm Manzanita Wall Art on eBay, which my wallet thanks me for, but my mostly bare walls do not.  I have also all but changed my mind about the living room curtains I have yet to make.  I still want to use my Lotta Jansdotter stencils, but I’m having cold feet about the fabric I bought (it is nothing like the gorgeous linen on the left below), and since my recent love affair with Fabric.com I have painters taped several swatches on the wall (occasionally they fall off while watching Criminal Minds, which is kind of hilarious).

The current plan is to go ahead with the stenciled curtains as planned, and then ignore the eye-rolling from Robert while I try to order this and/or this before they go out of stock again (ok, so they only have 2 yards left of the one on the right, so I probably won’t be getting that anytime soon).

 

Maybe I will take a picture of the other swatches I have taped to the wall for y’all soon.  Though that would probably discourage me from finishing the stenciled curtains.  And if someone could please go ahead and remind me to post pictures of my snazzy birthday gifts from last month, that would be greeeeat.

9 Responses to “World’s Shortest Hiatus”

  1. do it doooo it! <3 hehe! Post the pictures and get crackin on those curtains doll! <3

  2. I also want to see the curtains. Nice stumps :)

  3. the one on the right looks so much better. i have been thinking about chevron curtains too. they’re such fun.

  4. Cait, I can’t wait to see your curtains (whatever you decide to do)! The stenciled ones sound fun, but I love me some chevron too! PS- I know our neighbors love our “yard ornaments” as well! :)

    • Thanks Kara! I’m probably going to to ahead with the stenciled ones (and maybe order chevron fabric as a backup for if/when I get tired of them? haha)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

