Easy Update: Bridge Faucet

by Cait

We recently changed out our kitchen faucet to the one we mentioned here.  While we liked our previous faucet’s functionality and it was in perfectly good shape, I fell in love with the style of bridge faucets after reading Urban Grace for a while and seeing several gorgeous kitchens and bathrooms with them.  Also we occasionally smacked our large pasta pot into the other faucet while washing it.  While working on our 100th post I found this faucet in our price range at Home Depot, and we decided to get it and donate the old faucet to ReStore.

Our uninstall and install went smoothly.  I won’t go through it step by step with pictures because 1) I’m not a plumber, 2) it’s easy  and 3) the install required a good bit of flashlight holding and handing Robert tools on my part, so I could really only take one or two pictures.

This may or may not have been strategically taken after the uninstall had begun. </blogger fail>

We glanced over the instructions, checked whether we needed anything from the hardware store, and partially cleared out the under sink cabinets.  Then we turned off the water (which normally just involves turning off the valves under the sink, but because ours are old and don’t all work exactly as they should, we just turn the water to the whole house off) and gathered the tools we needed.

From there it was pretty much a whole lot of this:

Basically we just:

  1. Turned off the water & relieved the pressure from the system to try to avoid excess water dumping out of the supply  lines (which may or may not have happened when we installed our previous faucet)
  2. Disconnected the water supply lines
  3. Removed the old soap pump and the cover from the 4th hole which wasn’t used with the last faucet
  4. Took the weight/stopper off the pullout and disconnected it
  5. Lifted the old faucet out
  6. Cleaned any soap scum/build up from the sink
  7. Put the new faucet in place & connected everything
  8. Turned the water on to check for leaks

We also put towels down for any water that did drain out of the supply lines when we disconnected them, and used a bit of Teflon tape when we reattached things.  The whole process went really quickly, and when we were done we actually commented on how easy it was as compared to the last time.  I’m sure this is both because we’d done the whole thing before and the fact that the new faucet is a much simpler design.  Our new faucet came with instructions that only had 5 steps, so faucet companies probably know it’s not exactly rocket science.  But I have  also taken things apart and put them back together for the heck of it my entire life, so I could be biased.

Has anyone else switched out a faucet or done another easy update recently?

13 Responses to “Easy Update: Bridge Faucet”

  1. I want to! Once i’m in my real “big girl” house I totally will =)

    I love the new addition!

    • Thanks Jenn!

      I love the faucet you mentioned for your bathroom, I (selfishly) hope you choose that one when you have your own house! So cute & cheap! (although thanks to our sink’s configuration in the hall bath it was a nightmare to put in… but that is another story, usually it’s super easy!)

  2. It’s a very pretty faucet, I’m glad that you decided to do it yourself instead of hiring a plumber. Not sure we would’ve done the same, I’m sure I would get a facefull of water!

    • Thanks Sara!

      I remember being pretty nervous with the first faucet install (and the bathroom faucet was a PAIN) but this one went really smoothly! I think the design had a lot to do with it. That being said, there are plenty of “simple” DIY tasks that I would prefer to pay someone else (whether that be a professional, or even just paying my husband’s best friend to help) to do. Like installing/refinishing the hardwood in the guest and living room. Le sigh.

  3. The new faucet is pretty! I like the detail in it versus the standard old one. Also, your countertop and backsplash look really nice. Are they granite? I can’t tell.

    • Thanks Emily!

      Our countertops/backsplash is actually just Formica with a coating on it. It was done by the seller, and it has held up fairly well, just a few small chips which aren’t noticeable. Robert says it looks like garage floor coating, but they sell a kit in Home Depot/Lowe’s and I think Rust-Oleum makes one, too.

      One day we’d love concrete counters, but that is not going to happen anytime soon.

  4. Ahh, I see! It does not look like garage floor coating in your photos. My parents have had formica in their kitchen for 20 years and it has held up really nicely – with the exception of it being an outdated color. Yours look really tasteful by the pictures, but concrete counters are a dream of mine too.

    • It is tasteful (surprising, considering the former owner) and I don’t really think it looks like garage floor coating either (maybe that was just what Robert was using as an example when explaining it, he seems ok with how it looks, too.)

      Yeah, I don’t have anything against Formica as a counter surface (except if it was making my kitchen look really dated, then I might hate it a little, or coat it like ours). My parents’ kitchen had Formica for the past 27 years until they redid their kitchen and it was still in great shape, just slightly dated.

  5. It looks great! I love tall faucets. I knock stuff against mine all of the time and it drives me nuts.

    • Thanks Heidi! Yes, short faucets and bathroom ones that don’t stick out far enough (so that your hands hit the back of the sink while washing them) have become a pet peeve of mine!

  6. nice cheerwine bottle! :]

    • Thanks Joy! There was the small town just north of where I went to college that sold Cheerwine in a little general store. It was nice to be able to pick some up without going a lot further north! :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

