All We Want for Christmas

by Cait

It seems like everyone is making a wish list this time of year; whether it’s in a blog post, on your sidebar, or for emailing to family.  We’re pretty adept at making wish lists, too.  I made a one for Black Friday of what’d we’d buy if cost weren’t a factor, I made one about the DIY projects we hope to tackle in the future, and I even made one in September about what Santa could bring me (two of the four things have already been aquired, though).  We also have a running wish list on the side bar of our blog with links to things we would love to have in our hot little hands.

But truthfully?  We don’t want much for Christmas!  I think we’re hard to shop for because we’re “save for what we want” kind of people, and since most of what we want is house or tool related, it’s expensive!  Asking Robert what he wants always results in him answering “I don’t know”, “Nothing” or “Socks”, so I took the liberty of making a wish list for each of us (just in case Santa and his elves are stumped).  They’re labeled “his and hers” because I thought Santa might feel weird giving Robert curtains, but truthfully we both like all of the things listed.

Robert is probably up there with the World’s Hardest People to Buy Presents For, when asked he always says he wants socks, because he wears them out quickly.

1 We love gift cards!  They aren’t the most exciting to give, since a lot of people enjoy actaully shopping for or wrapping presents, but it takes us a while to save up for big ticket items and it’s always nice when we have a gift card to put towards those purchases.  Some of Robert’s favorite places to receive gift cards from are Lowe’s, Home Depot, Sears, Ikea, Target and iTunes.
2 Since we don’t actually need anything for Christmas, we both thought it would be nice for friends/family to simply make a donation to charity.  Some of our favorites are the Humane Society (where we got both our dogs) and Habitat for Humanity (where we met, and a great place to learn DIY skills).
3 The only things Robert has recently mentioned wanting recently involved the CJ-7, a lot of which are fairly big-ticket items (like a winch, if I remember correctly the one he wants is around $800-1000), but he also wants new tail lights (they’re cracked). I’ve been told a gift card to JC Whitney would be a good option, if Santa wants to help with the Jeep.
4 I know that Robert wants a framing nail gun “to complete our collection” (we have a brad nailer and a stapler), but he likes Bostitch and Dewalt, which can get expensive.

1 As I mentioned above, we don’t actually need anything for Christmas, and both thought it would be nice for friends/family to make a donation to someone who does.
2 Again, we love gift cards!  Some of my favorite places to receive gift cards from are Target, Ikea, Pottery Barn/West Elm, Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie and iTunes.
3 I love, love, love these curtains from Urban Outfitters, but they’re online only for $38 per panel and the art room would need three panels.  Maybe Santa and his elves can work some magic. (Do you think that Santa uses RetailMeNot and can try stacking coupons?)
4 These salt and peper shakers from Pottery Barn would go nicely with our wedding china without being too matchy-matchy, and they’re great for everyday use, too.  They also currently have free shipping.
5 This pouf wants to live in our living room (it thinks it would look nice with the Ikea Chair we want in Figur Beige).

Some other things I’m thinking are awesome?  This sconce from West Elm and this wall-hung votive holder from West Elm.

What are you hoping for this Christmas?  Have you made a wish list?

Tags:

9 Responses to “All We Want for Christmas”

  1. I heart the Pouf, the curtains (as you already know – i stalk them!) and the salt and pepper shakers!!! I wanted to make a wish list like this but i’m afraid of what may happen if I do! (haha what if i become so attached I buy everything on the list!? haha!)

    anywho – great choices! =) you have great taste my dear! =)

    • Thanks Jen :)

      Also, I know what you mean, because CB2 just emailed me that they have free shipping at the moment and now I REALLY want to order the pouf!!!!

  2. Cait I have been dreaming about those curtains since you first posted them! I want an art room with dark purple walls and those curtains now! Maybe a West Elm craft desk? Santa, are you reading? :)

    Love the pouf and of course, love the Humane Society donation. Mike and I did something similiar for our wedding and some of our friends actually did donate instead of getting us gifts!

    • I think the curtains would look awesome with dark purple walls! Here’s hoping Santa is listening, haha! :)

      I love all of the desks at West Elm! (Current fave is their 2×2 Console Desk.) I really, really wanted the Pottery Barn Bedford Project Table (or a similar table from Target or World Market) but we went with an Ikea Jonas desk in white and we used some of their Vika series table tops and cheap L-brackets to make a closet desk.

      Also, have you seen Sara at Russet Street Reno’s art room? Love!

      Robert and I made a Humane Society donation instead of doing some sort of party favor at our wedding, but I love the idea of asking for a Humane Society donation instead of wedding presents!

  3. that’s so sweet that you met whilst volunteering! Habitat for Humanity is a great charity–we haven’t volunteered for them (yet), but we do donate every year (and any spare house stuff to the ReStore.)

    • It’s sweet, except when Robert explains it by saying “we met in the shower” (because I was scraping plaster and paint overspray off the shower tiles), haha! Mostly that just gets odd stares.

      I love ReStore! We donate any spare house stuff there, too. Plus they have great prices on things like tile and interior doors. :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

