Question for Reader: Dish Soap and Hand Soap

by Cait

Dear The Interwebz,

From Mrs Meyers

I recently discovered that Bath & Body Works discontinued our favorite foaming hand soap, Wild Honeysuckle.  Maybe this is old news (it probably is, since I can’t even find a picture to post), but because I only ever go in B&BW when 1) we run out of soap, 2) they have sales and/or 3) when I’m with Emiley.  And I say “when we run out of soap” as if we buy their soap a lot, which we don’t, we just bought four bottles the last time we were there and it was on sale and it took us awhile to use all of since we’re never home.  But it did smell really, really good, so we were kind of addicted while it lasted.

Anyway, point is, we need a new hand soap. We’re trying to go greener, so I’m pretending not to be too crushed about the loss of my BFF Wild Honeysuckle, and I’m thinking about getting some variety of Dr Bronner’s soap, but I have never seen any in person so I wouldn’t know what scent to buy.  (Or maybe I have seen it at Whole Foods and just don’t remember?)

Which brings me to my next point!  We also just ran out of our unscented Mrs Meyer’s dish soap that we bought a while back at TJ Maxx (along with our Geranium scented surface wipes), and when I went to their website to browse their products neither of those were on the site.  I assume this is because things go to TJ Maxx to die when they’re being phased out, but my question is, are they phasing out my beloved Geranium altogether, or just in surface wipes?  I saw an article in O at Home (yes, it was from a two year old magazine, I got it from my mom, we trade magazines and then leave them in waiting rooms so that someone else won’t be waiting for their friend to have a c-section and be forced to read “Loving Your Grandbaby”, but I digress) about the maker of Mrs Meyer’s and how supposedly people don’t like to clean with floral scents, so now I’m scared!  Hold me!

Why does everything I like get discontinued?!  I live in Florida, of course I like floral scents!  (Ok, maybe that was a stretch, even with the Spanish meaning and whatever.)

The title of this post should probably just be “Old News” or “Behind the Times”.  Please, five readers, inform me!  Is Geranium going away?  What hand soap do you use?  Am I insane for liking floral scented soap?

XO,
Cait

3 Responses to “Question for Reader: Dish Soap and Hand Soap”

  1. That use to happen to me a lot at Bath and Body Works. I remember in the early years, they had a wonderful grapefruit shampoo that they discontinued. Seriously, it’s been over 15 years and I still miss the stuff!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one bemoaning the loss of soaps, Danielle! And I hold some pretty strong resentment towards Herbal Essences for taking away my kiwi shampoo 5 or 6 years ago!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

