In Which Our Tree is Still Not Decorated a Week Before Christmas

by Cait

Or: In Which Our Tree Enjoys a Refreshing Glass of Sprite*

You mean the tree is supposed to have things on it six days before Christmas? You people and your deadlines.

*Sprite because when we Googled tree preservative recipes it suggested a tad of chlorine-free bleach, caffeine-free lemon-lime soda, or epsom salts in addition to warm water. So we used all of the above.

5 Responses to “In Which Our Tree is Still Not Decorated a Week Before Christmas”

  1. Even without decorations, it’s still a good lookin’ tree!

    • Thanks Kate!

      I think I’ll crawl over the uninstalled bathtub in the guest room for the lights tonight. Maybe I’ll even scoot the tub out to grab the box of ornaments. (I know, crazy talk! *sarcasm* )

  2. Ha you have more than I do, granted my tree is decorated! But we’ve had the boxes down and in our entry way with the intention to decorate for 2 weeks now…at this point I refuse to put them out and Todds still holding out the hope to decorate and refusing to put the boxes away! Some day we will come to an agreement (as in I willl wait him out and then it will be past Christmas! Oh and I HATE Christmas music, like instand pissed off-ness as soon as I hear anything, I am the Grinch.

    • Haha passive-aggressive Christmas decorating, love it!

      I put some lighted garland up on the porch last night. Both of us working 50hrs a week takes most of our energy (and I’m sure having a new baby does, too!), but we’re getting there.

      I mostly only like the stuff we listened to growing up (Nat King Cole, Harry Connick Jr, Charlie Brown Christmas, instrumental stuff). I hate that everyone and their brother feels the need to make a Christmas album now, and every version of “Santa Baby” and “Baby It’s Cold Outside” drives me up a wall. You think maybe it comes from working retail and being forced to listen to bad Christmas music?

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

